A Court of Thorns and Roses – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) is the first book in a fantasy trilogy series written by Sarah J Maas. Annnnnnnnd apparently Maas will be writing more books for this series after this trilogy about other main characters… *happy dance*.

“Be glad of  your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.” p414


img_6971ACOTAR follows Feyre who is dragged into the Fae realm after killing a faerie disguised as a wolf. But like in many fantasy books all is not as it seems and Feyre finds that Tamlin, the faerie who whisked her away, is not dangerous in the ways she originally thought. Feyre must find a way to stop an ancient power that hordes over the faerie lands or doom both the faerie and human realm forever.

Okay so to be perfectly honest I didn’t actually like a number of key characters in this first book. So much so I tossed up whether I really wanted to read the second book when it was due to be released in May this year. However I am so glad I did. The second book in this series is AMAZING and you definitely need to read this first book as it sets everything up. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy this book… I just hated a certain character (just read it okay, I ain’t spoiling it).

The first half of the book is fairly subdued and follows Feyre’s discovery of the workings of the Fae world and of the issues that lie therein. There is a definitely a beauty and the beast theme through the first half of the book which rapidly changes towards the end when main characters are forced to fight for their survival (mostly Feyre, let’s be honest).

img_6982-2

Feyre is fairly immature and naive in this first book, but her character really starts to develop towards the end when she is forced to make some very hard choices.

‘”Do you ever stop being so serious and dull?”
“Do you ever stop being such a prick?” I snapped back.
 Dead – really truly, I should be dead for that.
But Lucien grinned at me. “Much better”‘. p92

There are some minor characters in this book of interest to keep an eye on such as Lucien, Rhysand and Feyre’s sisters, but if you want to know more you’ll have to read the book!

‘”When you healed my arm… You didn’t need to bargain with me. You could have demanded every single week of the year.”My brows knit together as he turned, already half-consumed by the dark. “Every single week, and I would have said yes.” It wasn’t entirely a question, but I needed the answer.

A half smiled appeared on his sensuous lips. “I know,” he said, and vanished.’ p385

Things I liked:

  • I love Maas’s writing style. I’ve watched her writing really develop throughout the Throne of Glass (ToG) series and I couldn’t fault it in this book.
  • While a certain character who features prominently  in book two doesn’t appear often in this book, the glimpses we are granted are awesome (more so once you’ve read the second book and understand the context).
  • The book is fairly short and well paced (well in my opinion anyway).

Things I didn’t like:

  • A certain character who shall not be named lest I spoil the plot for some.
  • Yeah, that’s about it… Screw you nameless character.

Not much more I can say without potentially spoiling some of the plot of the first and second book… Seriously, just read it and make sure you have the second book A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOMAF) on hand ready to devour afterward. I cannot wait for the release of the third book next year. Is it May 2017 yet?

“Because when the legends get written, I didn’t want to be remembered for standing on the sidelines. I want my future offspring to know that I was there, and that I fought against her at the end, even if I couldn’t do anything useful.” p413

Thanks for reading my review!

Georgia-Rae

*Sticker in both images purchased from RedBubble (Artist: clairewelleryt)

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  1. Pingback: A Court of Mist and Fury – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – ShutterPug

  2. Pingback: A Court of Wings and Ruin – Book Review – ShutterPug

Leave a Reply

