Cruel Beauty – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘”The better to kill me in my sleep?”

“It would be rude to wake you first.”‘ – p100

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge is a dark retelling of Beauty and the Beast with a twist. I may have gone a little overboard tabbing this book… but don’t worry I only included a few favourites quotes in this review…

img_7055Nyx is forced to marry an evil ruler lording over her kingdom after her father enters into a foolhardy bargain. Despite resenting her duty, Nyx prepares to use any means necessary to force the Gentle Lord, Ignifex, to break a nine hundred year old curse upon her people. Ignifex holds many secrets and soon Nyx realises the beliefs surrounding him are far from the truth.

 

“I wasn’t born to be saved.”p143

Nyx isn’t your normal heroine, she is quite hateful and with good reason. Her bitterness reminds me somewhat of Adelina Amouteru from the Young Elites by Marie Lu. I’m sure that won’t be everyone’s cup of tea but I enjoyed it and her internal monologue. 

“Don’t look at the shadows too long or a demon might look back.”p1

I loved Ignifex, evil swaggering and all. The start of the book leads up to wedding with a lot of background information… most of it relating to Ignifex and the curse everyone believes he had held over the land for so many years. Shade is also a character to watch and I’m sure many of you will work out who he is well before it is actually revealed (or I did anyway).

“If you start wondering how this house works, you’ll likely go mad. That could be amusing I suppose. Especially if it’s the kind of madness that causes you to run naked through the hallways. Do feel free to indulge in that anytime.” – p67

Things I liked:

  • The Gentle Lord… aka Ignifex
  • I love the way Hodge writes and her take on old fairy tales.
  • The plot flowed fairly well, especially since there is not many characters in this book and much of it is spent inside the ‘house’.

Things I didn’t like:

  • Nyx’s indecisiveness gets old quick. She hates people, she loves people, oh wait she is back to hating them. She has been stuffed around and I understand why she feels torn but it does get tedious.
  • This book is too short! I needed more!

Overall this is my favourite book by Rosamund Hodge though I did also really like Gilded Ashes. Not as big a fan of Crimson Bound but I’ll explain the reasons for that in a separate review.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

