Gilded Ashes – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“I don’t love him. But I take a treacherous delight in him.” location 551.

Gilded Ashes by Rosamund Hodge is short story retelling of Cinderella. In classic Hodge style the fairy tale has a dark twist in the form of a bargain made which harms any who would hurt the main character Maia.

“I’m the son and heir to the Duke of Sardis. I could walk into that ballroom naked with Alcibiades balanced on my head, and they’d still want to marry me.”

“Most likely. But if you try it, I’ll horsewhip you on the front steps.” location 233.

img_7588-2This book was fairly short but I did really enjoy Hodge’s take on the fairytale. Maia gets caught up in the preparations for a masquerade ball in which her step sisters plan to attend. Whilst delivering letters for one of her step sisters, Maia meets Anax, heir to the Duke of Sardis. Ironically like Maia, Anax does not believe in love either and of course they are inevitably drawn to each other.

“Love is madness…” location 366.

I wish the story could have been longer but it was enjoyable nonetheless. If you’re looking for a short book with great writing to immerse yourself in then look no further.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Save

Leave a Reply

