An Ember in the Ashes – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“The field of battle is my temple… The swordpoint is my priest. The dance of death is my prayer. The killing blow is my release.” location 188.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir follows a slave called Laia and a soldier called Elias. The first time I read this book I read it in one sitting because I simply could not put it down…

“I don’t know what happened to you… I don’t know who my father was or why you hate him so much. But I know my death won’t free you. It won’t give you peace. You’re not the one killing me. I chose to die. Because I’d rather die than live with no mercy, no honor, no soul.” location 5450.

img_7600Laia is a slave who agrees to spy on the Empire’s military academy after her brother is arrested. Elias is an unwilling Martial soldier who wishes to be free of the Empire’s regime. I really can’t go into to much detail about the plot here or I’ll risk spoiling it but obviously Laia and Elias’s  paths cross and they have to work together to remain undetected.

 

Things I liked:

  • The characters were well developed.
  • The plot was fairly fast moving and gave an insider view into both Elias’s and Laia’s lives.
  • The cover… so pretty!

Things I didn’t like:

  • Wasn’t a huge fan of the love triangle developing…
  • I didn’t like Helen at all but after reading the second book I’ve come to like her so hang in there.

img_7608

I realise this quote is from the second book but I love it… Not the best photo of this sticker, but as it has already taken up residence on my laptop it was a little tricky to photograph.

Overall well worth a read… give it a go!

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

* Sticker purchased from RedBubble.

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “An Ember in the Ashes – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a Reply

