Red Queen – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Rise, red as the dawn” – location 734.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard is the first book in an action packed series about a society separated by the colour of their blood.

First of all sorry it’s been a while since my last review. Full-time work (in retail over Christmas I might add) and studying two Law subjects over summer is stealing away almost all of my time. I probably should be studying now but hey blogging is a great way to procrastinate right?

img_7628Anyway Red Queen primarily follows Mare, a ‘Red’ commoner who begins working in the Silver Palace before it is discovered that she possesses rare powers despite the colour of her blood. The Silvers attempt to hide her in plain sight after her power is discovered and parade her around as a long lost Silver princess who is now engaged to a Silver prince.

Working with the Red Guard, a militant resistance group to try bring down the reign of Silvers Mare realises the lines between colours is starting to blur and warp.

“Anyone can betray anyone.” – location 3181.

Things I liked:

  • The twist at the end… like I had an inclining but still. WHAT?
  • I liked the world the characters live in and the world building. While it does seem at times like it’s a mix of a number of concepts from other books you can’t really help but overlap when there are so many of them out there.

Things I didn’t like:

  • I don’t particularly like love triangles and wasn’t a huge fan of the one in this book.
  • A certain character who is a betrayer! (Okay I did like them until I found out that fact but I was disappointed in them).

“Words can lie. See beyond them.” – location 1769.

The first time I read this book I was drawn in by the fast moving plot and twist at the end. Unfortunately the second book didn’t live up to my expectations but Red Queen is still worth a read (and hopefully Aveyard will redeem her self in the third book).

Do I recommended Red Queen? Yes.

Do I recommend the series so far? Jury is still out on that one until I read the third book… stay tuned!

Also here is a photo for you to enjoy of my pug attempting to ‘help’ me take a photo of Red Queen.

img_7610

 

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Save

One thought on “Red Queen – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a Reply

