The Top Ten Books I Read in 2016

Hey there! In a couple of days it will be 2017… where did 2016 go!! According to Goodreads I’ve read 57 books this year. I’m pretty sure I’ve read more and have forgotten to enter them but without further ado here are my top ten books I read in 2016.

#1 Court of Mist and Fury (Court of Thorns and Roses #2)– Sarah J Maas 

img_6975

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A Court of Mist and Fury is the second book in the A Court of Thorns and roses series by Sarah J Maas. I LOVED this book! This book turned the events of the first book on it’s head and I’m so glad it did. The characters in this book were well developed and I want to know more about them all. Bring on book three in 2017!!

#2 Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge

img_7055

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge is a dark retelling of Beauty and the Beast with a twist. I loved the main characters Nyx and the Gentle Lord(Ignifex) in this book. Cruel Beauty only loosely follows Beauty and the Beast and is definitely worth a read if you like quirky books.

#3 Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)– Sarah J Maas

empire-of-storms

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Empire of Storms is the fifth book in the Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas. I sort of both loved and hated this book  as the book dragged terribly in places but the ending was amazing (and heartbreaking). Not much I can say without spoiling things but I can’t wait until October 2017 for the final installment!

#4 Air Awakens Series Book 3, 4 & 5 (Earth’s End, Water’s Wrath & Crystal Crowned) – Elise Kova

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Yes I realise I’ve listed three books here but as Elise Kova released them all quite close to each other and they aren’t long books (or not to me anyway) I’m counting them as one. These three books follow Vhalla Yarl and the Crown Prince Aldrik Solaris. While I did enjoy some of the books in this series more than others I did enjoying the ending.

#5 A Book of Spirits and Thieves (Spirits and Thieves #1) – Morgan Rhodes

Spirits and Thieves.jpeg

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Spirits and Thieves is the first book in Morgan Rhodes new series which is set in the modern world of the Falling Kingdoms series. After loving the Falling Kingdoms books I decided to give this book a go and was pleasantly surprised. While there were things I didn’t love I definitely enjoyed it and I will read the third book when it is released next year.

#6 Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) – Cassandra Clare

Lady Midnight.jpeg

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare is the first book in her new series the Dark Artifices. I would seriously read anything this woman writes and I love that this series is another Shadowhunters book. I’ve already got a reminder in my phone for the release of the second book in May 2017… bring it on!

#7 A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2)– Sabaa Tahir

A torch against the night .jpeg

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A Torch Against the Night is the second book in the An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir. I didn’t actually enjoy this book as much as the first but I do have high hopes for the third book scheduled to be released in 2018.

#8 Gilded Ashes – Rosamund Hodge

img_7588-2

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Gilded Ashes by Rosamund Hodge is short story retelling of Cinderella. In classic Hodge style the fairy tale has a dark twist in the form of a bargain made which harms any who would hurt the main character Maia. I liked this short story but I do wish it could have been longer… but let’s be real, I’ll read anything Hodge publishes.

#9 The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1) – Renee Ahdieh

the wrath and the dawn.jpeg

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Wrath and the Dawn is the first book in the Wrath and the Dawn Series by Renee Ahdieh. I enjoyed this book much more than the second one. I really liked the main characters Khalid and Shahrza. Would I recommend the series? Yes. But I felt the second book fell a little flat after this great start.

#10 White Cat (Curse Workers #1)- Holly Black

white-cat

⭐️⭐️⭐️

White Cat by Holly Black is the first book in the Curse Workers series. This book was quite strange and quirky but I did enjoy it… mostly. The premise is interesting and I liked Cassel but I’m still undecided as to whether I’ll read the other books in the series.

 

 

 

 

So that was my top 10 for 2016. What did you read this year?

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

