Throne of Glass – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“You could rattle the stars” – p399.

First of all… sorry I haven’t posted in a couple weeks. Between work and summer semester units for University I’ve been super busy! Without further ado, here is my review for Throne of Glass.

Throne of Glass is the first book in the Throne of Glass (TOG) series by Sarah J Maas.

img_0221Celaena, an eighteen -year-old assassin serving a year sentence in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes is dragged from the mines and presented before the Crown Prince, Dorian,  as a candidate for a royal competition to find a new royal assassin.

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.”– p352.

She is forced to complete a in number of trials against thieves and assassins from across the empire. If she wins the competition she will earn a four year sentence working as the empire’s royal assassin before gaining her freedom (far better odds that she previously faced in the mines… aka imminent death).

After contestants start turning up dead Celaena must watch her back and try to figure out who the killer is before it’s too late.

Things I liked:

  • It would be a lie to say I loved this book. I liked it. However I love TOG series as a whole… the writing style and quality develops in leaps and bounds throughout TOG.
  • Captain Westfall. Enough said. Although my opinion on him did change in later books…
  • Dorian. Okay I didn’t really like Dorian that much in this book but I do like him as a whole in the series.
  • The world building and character development. Sarah J Maas has a knack for drawing me in and making me like characters I try not to.

“Still, the image haunted his dreams throughout the night: a lovely girl gazing at the stars, and the stars who gazed back.”- p38

Things I disliked:

  • Love triangle… well sort of. I really wasn’t that interest and knowing what I do about other books in TOG I feel it was unnecessary.
  • Not a lot of action in this book. There is a fair bit of fluffing around and setting up the story but TOG as a whole makes up for this.

“…Second place was just a nice title for the first loser.” – p156.

Overall I LOVE this series but I did seriously consider giving up on it on a number of occasions. The fifth book (Empire of Storms) explains a lot of things and really ties together the first four books. It is so worth reading… trust me!! If you don’t like this book or series don’t give up on Sarah J Maas. Give her A Court of Thorns and Roses series a crack. They are AMAZING.

Anyway… thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae.

PS. check out the sticker I have on my laptop relating to this series (top right) ☺️

Save

Save

5 thoughts on “Throne of Glass – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  1. I’m so excited that I won books three, four, and five that will be mailed to me! I am so jazzed!
    I love the white covers! We don’t have those here in the US, I think they are way sleeker looking.
    Yay for ToG series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

