Falling Kingdoms – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Even paradise could become a prison if one had enough time to take notice of the walls.”

Falling Kingdoms in the first book in a six book series by Morgan Rhodes. There is also already a spin off series based in this world (different time) called Spirits and Thieves.

falling-kingdomsFalling Kingdoms is based in Mytica and follows four characters, royals and rebels alike, who are caught up in the brewing war. Cleo is a princess who has been raised in luxury; Jonas is the sufferer of a great injustice that turns him into a rebel; Lucia is an adopted royal with supernatural tendencies and Mangus is the prince and heir of a conquer.

Usually I really dislike books with multiple views (especially more than three) as it can feel really disjointed but Rhodes did a fantastic job here of ensuring all accounts flowed.

I also absolutely HATED Magnus in this book (and vowed I would forever hate him) and somehow throughout the series Rhodes has turned me and Magnus is now possibly my favourite… I honestly think you have to be quite an amazing author to pull that off because he was awful (and well still kind of is sometimes).

“Even in the darkest and most cruel person, there is still a kernel of good. And within the most perfect champion, there is darkness. The question is, will one give in to the dark or the light?”

I also disliked Cleo in this first book but have come to like her throughout the series as she has grown as a person. She is pretty whiny and petty in this first book but push through; her character development down the track is great.

Someone I initially disliked and still dislike is Lucia. She is so annoying. Some people seem to think she’s great but I just feel like she had such a flat personality compared to the other three and I was tempted to just flick past her sections sometimes. I personally don’t feel she has improved throughout the series but I’m currently reading the fifth book so who knows – miracles happen.

“Those who appeared to be victims were always the easiest to victimize.”

Jonas provided an interesting viewpoint as he navigated the conflict and unwittingly became the leader of the people’s revolution. I’m interested to see how things go for him at the end of the series.

The book is fantasy and has magical elements, however I was more interested in the brewing war and destruction playing out. Also don’t judge this book but it’s slightly cheesy, overused fantasy cover… I almost ignored it because of this and am extremely glad I didn’t as I really like this series and it’s spin off.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Save

Save

One thought on “Falling Kingdoms – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  1. Pingback: A Book of Spirits and Thieves – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – ShutterPug

Leave a Reply

