Fear Me Not – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️

“They judge with their eyes alone. There is nothing wrong with you. There is something very wrong with them.”

Fear Me Not is the first book in The EVE Chronicles by Sara Wolf.

Fear me notEleven years ago aliens unwillingly crash-landed on earth. Unlike humans, these aliens eat emotions instead of food. An advanced device placed in those know as EVE’s (Emotion Vesicle Engraft) provides these aliens with their much needed food, and the EVE’s with much needed money.

Victoria becomes an EVE in order to raise money for her sick sister and is forced to attend the world’s first desegregated high school as a result. Paired with a crimson-eyed moody alien prince she not only has to navigate high school life with aliens thrown in the mix but she is also forced to to deal with conspiracies and murder.

 

 

‘”How were the cameras taken care of?” I ask. “I mean, I know you guys can climb walls of whatever -“

“We don’t ‘climb walls’, we use the sum attractive force between epidermal molecules to -”

I give him the ‘don’t test me after a long night’ look.

“We climb walls,” He says quickly.’

I’m a bit torn on how I feel about this book. I did enjoy it but I was only really just starting to get into it when it cut off (on a cliffhanger of course).

Some of the main characters; Victoria, Shadus, Raine, Taj and Dakota to name a few are likeable but I felt they only really started to develop towards the end.

‘Brown eyes. I do a double take.

They aren’t quite brown, more like rust. The irises streak with red, like the color of blood.’

I did find the whole lizard in a human body thing a bit strange but I think it’s preferable to books when aliens are practically the same as humans. Not sure how the series will pan out as far as the aliens keeping their human form or not but I will definitely be reading them to find out!

“If all I need to do is smile, your culture is highly dependent on the shallowness of outer appearances.”

“Yeah,” I laugh.  “We know. A million dead philosophers have told us before.”

Overall I liked the book but am withholding my judgement until I read the next book. I gave it three stars as it has potential but has a way to go just yet.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Leave a Reply

