Hunted – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“You promised not to run,” he murmured. “You did not promise not to try to kill me.”

“No,” Yeva agreed. “I didn’t.”

Hunted by Meagan Spooner is a Beauty and the Beast retelling set in medieval Russia. I’m not 100% sure why I love retellings so much but Hunted did not disappoint.

HuntedHunted follows Yeva, aka Beauty, who grew up among aristocrats but longs for the forest she used to hunt in as a child.

When her father loses his fortune her family are forced to move back to the woods on the outskirts of town where Yeva once again resumes hunting to feed her family.

“She wept because she did not know what she wanted, and because she wanted everything.”

Yeva’s father goes missing in the woods, raving of the Beast and Yeva sets out to find him despite her sister’s protests.

In classic Beauty and the Beast style Yeva is captured and kept hostage by the Beast but she has one goal in mind. Kill the Beast.

“Fire cannot hurt us. And yet, when we light her a lantern, there is a moment as we watch the wick flare in the darkness-a moment in which I want to touch the flame. Just to see if I can still be burned.”

While I didn’t love Hunted as much as Cruel Beauty (another retelling of Beauty and the Beast) I did really enjoy it. There is no insta love and it’s not really a romantic book (which I preferred – Stockholm syndrome anyone?).

It is extremely well written and kept me interested throughout even when the plot was slow. I can’t say much more without spoiling the plot (yes it is different in many ways to the original Beauty and the Beast) but definitely give it a go whether you are a fan of fairy tale’s or not.

Already read Hunted? Let me know what you thought of it!

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Leave a Reply

