First Year – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“You will thank me one day for not filling your head with false compliments. Adversity teaches one more than flattery ever will.”

First Year is the first book in The Black Mage series by Rachel E. Carter.

23365048

 

Given the choice of starting a trade or enrolling in one of the three war schools of Jerar, fifteen-year-old Ryiah selects the latter. Ryiah has always wanted to be a mage trained in Combat but to do so she must first survive the first trial year and gain an apprenticeship. Unfortunately many are rooting for Ryiah to fail including Prince Darren.

I’ll be totally honest, I wasn’t expecting a lot from First Year. It sounded pretty cliche and I was waiting for a bout of instalove or the like… But I was pleasantly surprised. I really liked this book and the series so far (just starting the forth book now).

 

“I wonder if you have ever given someone a compliment that wasn’t a backhanded insult.”
Darren’s grasp on the handle stilled, and he glanced back at me, eyes dancing amidst the surrounding shadows. “I prefer not to, it gives people an unsettling impression of self-importance.”

While Ryiah isn’t particularly talented (so everyone thinks) she has a lot of fire and a drive to succeed. She grows as a character and really comes into herself. I didn’t like Prince Darren at first, which is kind of the point, but as more comes to light in this book and throughout the series I changed my mind. Other characters, such as Ryiah’s brother Alex and their friend Ella are likeable and add well to the plot.

“You should never trust a wolf in sheep’s clothing. Because the only thing the wolf will ever want to do is break you.”

Don’t judge this book by it’s cover – it is definitely worth a read as the series only gets better.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

PS. Trying something a little different for the blog feature image… let me know what you think! 🙂

3 thoughts on “First Year – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  1. Pingback: Apprentice – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – ShutterPug

Leave a Reply

