The Hating Game – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Walking together, matching our footfalls, we exit the lobby like two television district attorneys gunning for justice.”

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne is her first novel and a standalone book.

Okay so first of all I don’t usually read rom-com/ chick lit style books but I thought I’d give this one a go after seeing the cover pop up a number of times. I’m also a sucker for hate/ love books and couldn’t resist picking this one up.

the hating game

The Hating Game follows Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman, arch nemesis and co-workers at a publishing company.

“Where are you actually going?” My voice rings down the empty street.

“I just told you. I’m going out stalking.”

“What, on foot?” I come closer by another six paces. “You were going to walk?”

“I was going to run down the middle of the street like the Terminator.”

Much of the plot consists of their back and forth banter both within the work environment and outside it. I honestly loved the quips and internal dialogue provided from Lucy. There is no instalove and the romance is a slow burn which is great because that is why I generally avoid these style books (instalove annoys me).

“I always thought you’d live underground somewhere, near the earth’s core”

“Uncle Satan didn’t have any apartments available in my price range”.

I can’t say much more without spoiling the plot but this is definitely worth a look if you need a light and funny read.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Leave a Reply

