A Court of Wings and Ruin – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“I hadn’t realized I was a villain in your narrative.”

A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOWAR) is the third book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J Mass. If you haven’t read book one please click here to see the review for A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR). Read book one but not two? Please click here to see the review for A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOMAF). I’ve kept this review as non-spoilery as possible but if you haven’t read book one or two I can’t guarantee anything!

Court of Wings and Ruin.jpegWith war looming and Feyre back in enemy territory, the safety of everyone, fae and human alike, is at stake. Playing a deadly game of deceit, Feyre must glean information from Tamlin about the maneuverings of the invading king whilst working out how to defeat him.

As the war bears down, the High-Lords must decided which side they fight for and what they truly risk.

“Only you can decide what breaks you, Cursebreaker. Only you.”

Oh my goodness did I have a book hangover after finishing this book. I’m proud to say I forced myself to read it over a week rather than devouring it in a matter of hours like I wanted to.

Was it amazing? Yes! Did it hold my attention as much as book two (ACOMAF) did? Sadly not. ACOMAF holds a special place in my heart because I love, love, love that book. Saying that ACOWAR was fantastic by normal standards, just a little slow moving after ACOMAF. Getting confused by the abbreviations yet? Don’t worry they throw me a bit too.

Anyway it is really hard to say much without spoiling the plot because so much happened in this book. What I can say is the build up to that inevitable fight scene? Awesome… I also liked that there were some minor battles and lots of interesting things happening along the way. There were a few slow parts but thankfully they generally occurred just before something huge happened and I was drawn back in again.

I shouldn’t have been surprised by the complexity of the ending after reading Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass) by Mass, but I was. Everything mentioned through the first two books of the ACOTAR series tied in to create the ultimate ending. I loved it; even if Maas gave me a minor heart attack a number of times.

‘Lucien squeezed our linked arms as we rounded a hedge, the house rising up before us. “You are a better friend to me, Feyre,” he said quietly, “than I ever was to you.”’

The characters as always were great but special mention to Lucien and Helion. I really liked Lucien in the first book and was hoping he would feature more in this book. My wish was granted. And Helion – man I hope he features in the spin offs or has his own.

If you haven’t read this series or gave up part way through please consider giving it a go. I’m planning on rereading this book on a long haul flight I have coming up and I’m sure I’ll stumble across a number of interesting things I missed in the excitement of reading it the first time.

There were a number of other quotes I loved but they would definitely be a spoiler if you haven’t read it so I’ll keep them to myself.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Save

4 thoughts on “A Court of Wings and Ruin – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  1. Pingback: Real Neat Blogger and Liebster Award. – A Tepid Wary

Leave a Reply

