A Book of Spirits and Thieves – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“How stupid to abandon something I loved because someone I loved abandoned me.”

A Book of Spirits and Thieves is the first book in the Spirits and Thieves series by Morgan Rhodes. The series is set in the same world as her Falling Kingdoms series in a modern setting. My review for the first Falling Kingdoms book is here.

spirits-and-thievesA Book of Spirits and Thieves follows Crystal and Farrell living in modern day Toronto as well as Maddox in ancient Mytica.

Crystal seeks answers after her sister Becca falls into a coma when she looks into a mysterious book delivered to the family bookshop.

Farrell, a rich playboy, is thrilled when the leader of the secret Hawkspear Society invites him into the fold. Learning more and more about the society he partakes in Farrell begins to question everything he thought he knew about his family and loyalties.

Maddox is drawn into a world of intrigue when he discovers he is the only person who can see a spirit girl, Becca. He must uses his connections and knowledge to help her get home to modern day Toronto.

“I don’t really like lies. I prefer to tell the truth whenever possible. It’s much easier to keep track of.”

I didn’t particularly enjoy Maddox’s point of view in this book. While his point of view does serve an important part in the overall plot I found his sections boring at times.

Crystal and Farrell’s points of view on the other hand were really interesting and the fact their paths cross over probably contributed to this.

I instantly disliked Farrell but after Magnus in Falling Kingdoms I’ve learned to wait and see when Rhodes writes. I have a feeling he will turn around.. or maybe not, I’ll probably come to like him regardless.

This is an action packed fantasy and it will certainly help you understand if you’ve read Falling Kingdoms first, though I don’t think it’s crucial.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

 

 

Leave a Reply

