Stone of Tears – Book Review ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Only a fool walks into the future backwards.”

Stone of Tears is the second book in the Sword of Truth (SOT) series by Terry Goodkind. I just realised that this book and the name of the series have the same initials… duh. So I’ll be using the full book name in this review. To avoid spoilers if you haven’t read the first book Wizard’s First Rule check out the review for it here.

Stone of Tears.jpegStone of Tears immediately follows the events of Wizards First Rule (WFR) with Richard whisking himself and Kahlan away after defeating the Boxes of Orden in D’Hara.

the veil of the underworld has been torn and Darken Rahl continues to summon sinister power despite being dead. If left unchecked he could free the Keeper himself and destroy the world as they know it.

Stolen away by the ‘Sister of the Light‘, Richard must learn to master his magic and escape to save the world once again.

“Sometimes that’s all life is… One desperate act after another.”

One thing I have to say about this series is that Terry Goodkind never gives main characters a break… there is always a disaster on the horizon and while I enjoy the action can he not just give everyone 5 minutes of peace?

“Dance with me, Death, I am ready.”

One of  my all time favourite scenes in this series is when Richard walks into the Palace of Prophets and basically promises to kill them all. From the kind-hearted woods guide in Wizard’s First Rule Richard starts to showcase his darker side.

“…I am a prisoner; I have nothing to live for. I am the flesh of prophecy. I am the bringer of death.”

This series as a whole is one of my favourites and this book in particular is fantastic.

Thanks for reading!

Georgia-Rae

Leave a Reply

